Provincial Parks Re-opening

Provincial Parks Re-opening

Updated October 6, 2022 - 10:05 a.m.

Provincial parks closed due to hurricane Fiona are gradually reopening as assessments deem them safe and functional.

Parks and beaches in the Annapolis valley and southwestern Nova Scotia (Annapolis, Digby, Kings, Lunenburg, Queens, Shelburne and Yarmouth counties) are all open.

In central Nova Scotia (Colchester, Cumberland, Halifax, and Hants counties) the following parks have reopened:

Colchester County:

  • Caddell Rapids 
  • Londonderry 
  • MacElmons Pond 
  • Wentworth - washroom facility closed until further notice due to power outage.

Cumberalnd County:

  • Cape Chignecto 
  • Blue Sea Beach
  • Fox Harbour
  • Gulf Shore
  • Northport
  • Shinimicas
  • Tidnish Dock 

    Halifax County:

    • Clam Harbour Beach - picnic area closed due to downed trees
    • Cleveland Beach 
    • Cole Harbour Heritage park - Costley Farm trail closed until further notice
    • Conrods Beach 
    • Crystal Crescent 
    • Elderbank
    • Jerry Lawrence
    • Laurie - swimming area and trail around the point are closed until further notice
    • Lawrencetown Beach 
    • Long Lake
    • MacCormacks Beach
    • Martinique Beach 
    • McNabs and Lawlors Islands
    • Moose River Gold Mines
    • Musquodoboit Valley 
    • Oakfield 
    • Porters Lake - day-use area and trails closed due to downed trees
    • Queensland Beach 
    • Rainbow Haven Beach 
    • Sackville Lakes 
    • Spry Bay
    • Taylor Head - picnic areas and access to beach open (trails closed until further notice) 

    Hants County:

    • Anthony 
    • Falls Lake
    • Smileys (open for day-use only)

    In eastern NS (Antigonish, Cape Breton, Guysborough, Inverness, Richmond and Victoria counties) the following parks have reopened:

    Antigonish County:

    • Bayfield Beach
    • Pomquet Beach 

    Pictou County

    • Waterside Beach

    Cape Breton County:

    • Barrachois 
    • Ben Eoin
    • Dalem Lake 
    • Dominion Beach
    • Groves Point 

    Guysborough County:

    • Boylston (day use only) 
    • Marie Joseph
    • Port Shoreham
    • Sherbrooke 
    • Tor Bay 

    Inverness County:

    • Lake O Law
    • Mabou
    • Whycocomagh

    Richmond County:

    • Battery
    • Irish Cove
    • Point Michaud
    • Pondville
    • Lennox Passage - picnic area open, trails closed until further notice due to downed trees

    Victoria County:

    • MacCormack

    Assessments have determined that the following parks have sustained significant damage and will remain closed for the remainder of the 2022 season:

    Colchester County:

    • Five Islands(camping and day-use areas)

    Cumberland County:

    • Amherst Shore 
    • Heather Beach 

    Hants County:

    • Bell

    Halifax County:

    • Dollar Lake (camping and day-use areas) 

    Antigonish County: 

    • Arisaig

    Cape Breton County:

    • Mira River (camping and day-use areas) 

    Guysborough County:

    • Lochiel Lake

    Pictou County: 

    • Caribou-Munroes Island (camping and day-use areas) 
    • Melmerby Beach
    • Powells Point  
    • Rushtons
    • Salt Springs 

    Victoria County:

    • Cape Smokey 

    Closed until further notice - clean up is ongoing at the following parks: 

    Colchester County parks closed until further notice:   

    • Tatamagouche

    Antigonish County closed until further notice:  

    • Beaver Mountain 

    Cape Breton County parks closed until further notice:  

    • Petersfield 

    Guysborough County parks closed until further notice:  

    • Salsman 

    Inverness County parks closed until further notice:  

    • West Mabou Beach 

    Pictou County parks closed until further notice:

    • Greenhill 

    Victoria County parks closed until further notice:  

    • Cabot Landing 
    • Uisge Bàn Falls 

    Further updates on park closures and re-openings will be provided on the parks website and via social media.